Behind the Scene: 2013 Anna Sui Spring/Summer New York Fashion Week

Living in New York City, interning for Anna Sui. That is my life.

Fortunately I got a great opportunity to help Anna Sui with her new season collection. We started three weeks before the show until the end, from model fittings to all looks set. I am the only intern who has participated all these parts; though it has been a busy month, the experience was still amazing.

Last September, I was sitting in my office in Holland, keeping an eye on New York Fashion week’s latest show in front of my laptop. I dreamed that one day I could be in New York City. I updated my Chinese twitter that day saying: “New York, New York, New York… if repeated this name for millions of times, will I be there someday?” And 365 days later, I am here, helping all the preparations, being in the backstage.

This season Anna Sui specifically focuses on Punk. As a punk fan myself, I was excited about every look. Especially the denim and leather. The whole collection is smart and creative, unique and floral. I love when they talked about how to get inspiration from those rock stars, and my mind was full of those beloved punk music.

I like Mackenzie and Franzi. Two new faces for Anna Sui, and they are really cute girls. I like when Franzi talked about her hometown Berlin with Anna, because Berlin is one of my favorite cities in Europe. Mackenzie is only 17 years old, but she is actually more mature and serious about her modeling job.

I met Liu Wen too, the model I’ve always wanted to meet. We are both Chinese, from the same area, same age, but she is the star.

Three days before the show, we started to work with people from the PR company KCD to get everything in order, including every single detail about the looks, walking orders, shoe size, even how accessories should be worn. You cannot make any mistakes since by the end it will all turn out to be 10 mins show, and all needs to be done in advance.

The backstage was packed with production promoters, fashion journalists, photographers. Professional dressers know exactly what to do, and every one is busy with their job. The show was great, one of my friends watched the show and told me that the background music is from Ramones “I want to be sedated”. I was so happy, because that was the music in my mind as well.

Maybe this is the only chance in my life to participate in such a big show. Memories won’t fade.

2 thoughts on “Behind the Scene: 2013 Anna Sui Spring/Summer New York Fashion Week

  1. OMG!!! You are so lucky!!! How in the world did you get the intern job?! I’d kill to do this. my mother used to be a catwalk model and i always stayed far away from the whole business but the shows and the organization, clothes design – I love all that stuff. Your job is so cool, lucky girl!!

Leave a comment